Mike Jones was a one-man wrecking ball Sunday night in the MLY season opener.

2010 Underway

MLY kicked off its 2010 season Sunday night at Brown Stadium just one week short of the month of June—the latest start in league history.  Mike Jones, Phil Bradley, Adam Biggers and Chad Ortiz defeated Andy Taylor, Shawn Brown, James “Monu” Wickham and Brian Sharon 9-4 in a game marked by some new faces and the reemergence of some old ones.


Mike Jones single-handedly carried his team to victory, striking out the league’s best hitters 14 times while scattering 11 hits in his nine-inning complete game performance on the mound.  Jones also drove in six of his team’s nine runs including three homeruns.  Chad Ortiz added his first career homerun in MLY in the victory. For Team Taylor, Shawn Brown and Taylor combined for seven hits, with Brown and Sharon both getting their first homeruns of the year. 


The return of Brian Sharon was a welcome sight for the league.  Sharon pitched four solid innings. Throwing at around 50% arm strength, Sharon has hinted that his arm will take some time to come around, but Sharon’s control and movement was very good for a player who has been absent from the game for nearly four years.  MLY is hoping Sharon will redevelop into the Sharon of 2002 and fill a large void left by the loss of Bud Clark this season.


Rookies Adam Biggers and Ortiz looked solid as well in their respective debuts.  Hopes are high that the the league will add both players to the regular roster this season, while both continue to develop.


WP: Jones (1-0)

LP: Taylor (0-1)

HR: Jones (3), Ortiz (1), Brown (1), Sharon (1), Bradley (1)


Next Game: TBA




League Stats/Record Book


Video Feed
Andy Taylor hits a two-run homerun during preseason action Sunday afternoon at Brown Stadium.

Major League Yardball
Flint, Michigan
2009 All Rights Reserved
Krusty Brand Legal Forms